New Councillors Declared

Sydney, Dec 23: City of Sydney’s newly-elected local government representatives have been publicly announced at a ceremony held at the Sydney Town Hall, today.
After a smoking ceremony by Brendan Kerin from the Metropolitan Local Aboriginal Land Council, world champion town crier, Graham Keating, celebrated the new City of Sydney Council representatives. 
Councillors were then sworn in and a Deputy Lord Mayor was elected at an extraordinary meeting to kick off the new term.

Download our app on the Google Play Store or the Apple Store. 

Clover Moore has returned as Lord Mayor with Jess Scully named as her deputy.
This year’s election saw more than 120,000 votes cast by both local residents and those on the City of Sydney’s non-residential register of which 55 percent of the votes were lodged in person with the remainder were cast online or by post. 
Close to 175,000 people had been eligible to vote in the Dec 4 election.
Local government elections in New South Wales are usually held once every four years.
However, as the 2020 election had been postponed twice due to COVID-19, the new council will serve for two years and nine months with the next election scheduled to be held in Sept 2024. would like to take this opportunity to congratulate both returning and newly elected councillors, they are:

Returning councillors:

Clover Moore – first elected Lord Mayor in 2004, Councillor Moore is the longest serving leader of the City of Sydney. Councillor Moore was an independent member of the NSW Parliament from 1988 to 2012.

Jess Scully – a curator, consultant and author, Councillor Scully uses creativity to engage with people about urban life. Councillor Scully was first elected as a councillor in 2016.

Robert Kok – Councillor Kok is an advocate for a multicultural city and strengthening the local area’s relationship with Asian communities. A practicing lawyer, this is Councillor Kok’s fourth term as a City of Sydney councillor.

Linda Scott – Councillor Scott is committed to making Sydney fun, fair and sustainable as an experienced board director, she also serves as the President of the Australian Local Government Association and deputy chair of industry superannuation fund CareSuper. This is her third term as a City of Sydney councillor. (Labor)

New councillors:

Emelda Davis – Councillor Davis has extensive experience in capacity building for Indigenous, Australian South Sea Islander, Pacific and culturally and linguistically diverse communities. She is the founding chair of not-for-profit Australian South Sea Islanders (Port Jackson) and has worked for several government agencies and grassroots organisations.

HY William Chan – a Sydney architect, urban planner and recent fellow in sustainable cities with the UN, Councillor Chan also advocates for youth and climate justice.

Sylvie Ellsmore – a community organiser and environmental and native title lawyer, Councillor Ellsmore has previously served on Marrickville Council and supports a more equal, sustainable and grassroots Sydney. (Greens)

Shauna Jarrett – a senior executive specialising in strategic design, implementation and governance, Councillor Jarrett is concerned about the post-pandemic recovery of the city and sees an opportunity to renew arts and culture in the local area. (Liberal)

Yvonne Weldon – has 30 years’ experience working in government and Aboriginal organisations. Councillor Weldon is chair of the Metropolitan Local Aboriginal Land Council, deputy chair of the NSW Australia Day Council, and a Domestic Violence NSW and Redfern Jarjum College board member. Her vision is a vibrant, inclusive city humming with opportunity equally accessible to all Sydneysiders. (Independent)

Lyndon Gannon – an entrepreneur who is keen to champion the concerns of small and medium sized businesses. (Liberal)

Want to be a part of our podcasting series? Send your pitches to with the subject titled “Podcast.” 

Success! You're on the list.

Leave a Reply